THE DEATH ADDAH: aka The Bike Build

Death Adder?

So, I’ve got an Australian buddy who I met through work too many fucking years ago to admit, that started calling my bike “The Death Adder” (sounds like “death addah”). It started something like this:

“You always ride your death addah to work, mate?”

“Death adder?”

“Yea, your bike, man, even in this shit weathah?”

“Fuck yea, I always ride. It’s Seattle, the weathers the weather. What do you mean death adder, dude? That’s hilarious”

“Yea, well, that’s what me dad always called ’em. He was a cop, right? He said the best way to get proper fucked was to pedal around like an asshole on a bike and get hit by a cah. Death addah. Adds death. Or somethin’, fuck if I know mate. The Death Addah!”

IMG_20150409_214742
This POS.

“Work’s for me. The Fuckin Death Addah!”

I’ve had this bike for even longer than I’ve known my buddy. It has been a sturdy and reliable steed. Believe it or not, the first time I trained for the STP I did it on that fucker (with a set of slicks, of course). I mean 50-60 mile rides. It moves better than you’d think.

Clip shoes? Skinny tires? Special seat? Disk brakes? Poly-carbonate fairy-cocoon-silk frame? Get fucked man, this is the death adder.

So what?

So since having a kid, switching jobs, and buying a house in the shifty north end of Seattle colloquially called  Lake City, it had become unfeasible to pedal my fat ass to work everyday. Yea, I could do it, been wanting to honestly, but that ride will eat up AT LEAST 2 hours a day.

So what?

Well, I’m a selfish prick (sic). Since I really, truly, profoundly enjoy spending time with my kid (and wife, but she’s up late), I want to do it as much as possible. I really do. This includes time in the morning and time at night. And, since I am also a very lucky prick (job wise), I can. so I do.

Jesus! So. The. Fuck. What?!?!

OK, so I’m building an electric bike. The WHY being two things.

  1. I really miss riding my bike to work (and sorely need regular exercise)
  2. I need a short commute

I started researching a couple of months ago into the whole thing, and was pretty put off pretty quickly. Top speeds. Range. The sweet-baby-moses prices. None of it very encouraging.

The gig is, I’m looking at a 10-15 mile ride (routes need to be variable) one way, and right now, if I’m fucking on I can average 15 mph sucking water and power bars. Most of what I was seeing topped out at 15mph. Might make me sweat less, but the flat out fact is I need to be faster. And not spend 5k.

Honestly, mine is not a new story, just go to endless sphere and take a gander. Nah, you know what? Bullshit. The death-adder IS a new story. I’ll just be climbing up and over all the blood, sweat, tears, chemical fires, wasted money and sold souls of those before me. Hopefully.

I intend to, I am (the bulk of the parts are here already), going to change The Death Adder over to an electrified bicycle.

This is already happening. Money’s been spent. Fingers have been burnt.

Leave a Reply

